Professional Health Care Organizations

This list represents only a few of the professional organizations involved with genetic issues. The World of Genetic Societies and the National Coalition for Health Professional Education in Genetics listed below have links to a large number of these professional organizations. 

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)

American College of Medical Genetics (ACMG)
   Clinical Services Searchable Database

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists  (ACOG)

American Medical Association (AMA)

American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG)

Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs (AMCHP)

Association of Public Health Laboratories (APHL)

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)

Genetic Professional Societies

International Society for Neonatal Screening (ISNS)

International Society of Nurses in Genetics (ISONG)

National Birth Defects Prevention Network (NBDPN)

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH)<

National Coalition for Health Professional Education in Genetics (NCHPEG)

National Society of Genetic Counselors, Inc. (NSGC)


Society For Inherited Metabolic Disorders (SIMD)

Teratology Society

World of Genetic Societies


HRSA Regional Genetics and
Newborn Screening Collaboratives

There are seven regional genetics and newborn screening collaboratives in the U.S., supported by the DHHS/Health Resources and Services Administration/Maternal and Child Health Bureau/Genetic Services Branch.

Region 1: New England Regional Genetics Group, Inc.
Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

Region 2: The New York/Mid-Atlantic Region
Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia.

Region 3: Southeastern Regional Genetics Group
Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, and the Virgin Islands.

Region 4: The Region 4 Genetics Collaborative
Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio and Wisconsin.

Region 5: Heartland Genetics and Newborn Screening Collaborative
Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and South Dakota.

Region 6: Mountain States Genetics Regional Collaborative Center
Arizona, Colorado, Montana, New Mexico, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming.

Region 7: Western States Genetic Services Collaborative
Alaska, California, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington.